top of page

Sweet Cravings - Chocolate Nut Butter Fudge


I have such a sweet tooth. After every meal I crave something sweet, just to finish the meal off properly you understand. I'm trying to increase the amount of anti-inflammatory foods I eat though, to help soothe my IBS symptoms. Unfortunately sugar is pretty inflammatory so I've been gradually cutting out all refined sugar. I still have a sweet tooth though.

I decided to create something that would satisfy the cravings, but not contain refined sugar and I think this delicious chocolate nut butter fudge really works. It definitely works in our house as every time I make a batch it disappears within minutes. You can make these sweet treats three different ways. You can add the cacao (or cocoa if you don't have cacao but just add a little more as it's not such a strong flavour). You can make them without the cacao and they have a much more caramel flavour, or you can combine the two and have them as half and half.

They take about 5 minutes to make and then need to go in the freezer to set for about 45 minutes. Waiting the 45 minutes is the hardest part! Once they are set, store any that don't get eaten straight away in the fridge.

Recipe for Chocolate Nut Butter Fudge (Makes 6 squares):

Ingredients:

2 tbsp coconut oil

3 tbsp ground pecans

1 tbsp cacao (leave out if making plain caramel fudge)

1 tbsp peanut butter

1 tbsp maple syrup

1/2 tsp vanilla essence

Method:

  1. Blend pecans in the food processor

  2. Melt the coconut oil in a small pan over a low heat

  3. Add all the other ingredients and mix til well combined and the nut butter has melted

  4. Pour into an ice-cube tray and put into the freezer for 45 mins to an hour to set

  5. Store in the fridge

Enjoy :-)

bottom of page