top of page

Delicious Banana Pancakes with Cacao Drizzle


On 3rd January this year, on a cold clear winters day, I sat in my Highland kitchen and created seven goals for myself. Seven large goals that I wasn't sure of how I would ever begin, let alone actually achieve. One was to create a healthy food blog, and I had given myself the target of my birthday, which is next week, to achieve this goal. When I set myself this goal I had no idea of the changes it would bring, both in terms of my confidence in the kitchen and in meeting new friends in the amazing community of like minded healthy food fans on Instagram. I used to follow a recipe religiously, only making it if I had exactly every single ingredient on the list. If something was missing, I'd not make it til I had all the ingredients. Since starting this blog I've become much more relaxed and experimental in the kitchen. If I don't have an ingredient I'll substitute it with something else.....what's the worst that can happen? So far I've not had any major flavour disasters! The biggest surprise for me though, and the most unexpected outcome of setting this goal has been meeting so many lovely Instagram food bloggers. To each and every one of you, thankyou. You inspire me each day to keep creating new recipes, and to keep trying out new ideas from your accounts. I'm so grateful to be part of such an amazing community.

So to today's recipe. These delicious banana pancakes are very simple to make and taste amazing. I've paired them with a chocolate drizzle...and this time the flavour combination does work.

Banana Pancakes with Cacao Drizzle (makes 5)

Ingredients:

1 tsp coconut oil (for frying)

1 and a half bananas

2 eggs

1/4 tsp vanilla essence

1 tbsp maple syrup

1 tbsp coconut milk (the thick part)

1/4 cup buckwheat flour

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

Cacao drizzle:

1 tsp cacao

1 tsp maple syrup

1 tbsp coconut milk

A few drops vanilla essence

To serve:

Strawberries, raspberries, blueberries

Cacao Drizzle or Maple Syrup

Method:

  1. Mash the bananas with a fork in a large bowl

  2. Beat the eggs and add to the bananas, along with the vanilla essence, maple syrup and coconut milk. Mix well

  3. Add the flour and bicarbonate of soda and mix til well combined

  4. Put the coconut oil in a frying pan and heat to medium

  5. Pour in a spoonful of the mix at a time. It spreads quickly so about 1/2 ladle is enough for one pancake. Cook for 3 - 4 minutes on one side, til bubbles begin to form. Flip over and cook for 2 minutes on the other side.

  6. Whisk all the ingredients for the cacao drizzle together in a small bowl and pour over the cooked pancakes, and serve with the fresh berries.

bottom of page